I’ve been visiting Paris for over 30 years and, more than any other city (I couldn’t tell you why) it never fails to bring out the creative side of my photography.  It offers something of interest during each epoch of history over the past 800 years, be it medieval:

Notre Dame facade 5
Notre Dame

 

 

 

Musee Carnevalet b&w
Hotel de Carnavalet

 

 

…or renaissance:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…or baroque/neo-classical:

…or art nouveau

But it’s the lighting (particularly early morning) that seems to get my creative juices flowing:

Fountain silhouette

 

This was taken during my honeymoon back in the 1980’s.  I love the way the back lighting catches the drops of water in the middle of the photo and the perfect silhouette of the statue towards the top.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Invalides 3

 

The same trip early in the morning.  The shadow of the figure just about to enter the frame to the left creates the interest in this photo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Musee d'Orsay clock

A slightly more recent photo (1990’s) from the Musee d’Orsay.  I must admit it was a bit of a fluke.  I was waiting for someone to enter the frame before taking the shot, but I couldn’t have anticipated how they’d be leaning back at exactly the right angle to mirror the line on the clock behind them.

Street scene

This has to be my favourite, I think.  Again, I take credit for waiting for someone to enter the frame before taking the shot, but the halo around her head was accidental and – once again – makes the photo.

But first and foremost (in my eyes, anyway) Paris is a city of sensational museums.  There’s the Louvre and Musee d’Orsay with which everyone is familiar, but my favourite is the Cluny museum of medieval art.  There’s an immediacy and accessibility to its works which is appealing (and very tactile – you feel like reaching out and touching everything) and it is seldom very busy compared to its more famous counterparts.

Cluny museum 8

Rodin Museum Burghers of Calais

 

 

The Rodin museum is another gem not too far away from the Musee d’Orsay.  It’s housed in a lovely building and the gardens are a highlight.  The Burghers of Calais can be glimpsed from the street and gives a taste of what’s on offer.

 

For some reason I take more pictures of people in Paris than anywhere else.  The 2 below are from the Luxembourg gardens.  I like the angle created by the 2 figures (from bottom left to top right)…

Luxembourg gardens 2

Luxembourg gardens

and this photo of a nanny with a boy playing with his boat can only have been taken in one city in the world!

 

 

 

 

You can’t do a blog on Paris and not have some photos of the Eiffel tower.  The two below are my favourite.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my personal view of Paris.  As always, there’ll be a new destination with a slightly different focus next week.

Metro sign at night

 

